The Book Is Always Better

I had seen glimpses of the trailers to Steven Spielberg’s Schindler’s List a couple of times. The only thing playing on my teenage mind was: it’s 3 hours long…and it’s in black and white!

Yikes, I love you Steven, but honestly! Black and white?!

I just couldn’t comprehend it. So I decided then that I was not going to watch it until I had read the book. So I went to the Maru a Pula library to look for the book. I actually called it Schindler’s List and the librarian brought me the book Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally.

Schindler's Ark by Thomas Keneally

Schindler's Ark by Thomas Keneally Image from hodder.co.uk

Once I started reading, I just couldn’t put it down.  I cried, I laughed.

I knew not all scenes could make it into the movie. And since I knew the movie was black and white, I hoped the little girl’s red coat would be in colour…and it was (and that made me want to cry even more)!

So even though the book was great, Schindler’s List is one of my all time favorite movies (it’s in my top 10).

The whole cast was just exceptional.

No way can I bring myself to say the book was better. No way.

 

Seen any good adaptations lately? Leave me some recommendations please.

 

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

